Dean Berman & Shelby Lohr

Honors College Senior Named Marshall Scholar Finalist

Posted On November 4, 2013
Categories Uncategorized

Georgia State University senior Shelby Lohr has been named a Marshall Scholar finalist. The Marshall is widely recognized as one of the most prestigious and competitive scholarships awarded to American undergraduates.

Lohr, a history major and Honors College member, also has significant experience serving as a research assistant at Brown University and for Honors College Dean Larry Berman. A native of Loganville, Ga., Lohr’s outstanding commitment to community service has included many trips to Honduras where she has taught English, assisted in an orphanage and worked with the elderly in Honduras. She was also the recipient of the University System of Georgia’s Outstanding Scholar Award for 2013, and earned the Provost Award, the top honors at the 2013 Georgia State Undergraduate Research Conference.

“This is a tribute to Shelby’s record of academic success and her commitment to service of interests larger than self,” said Honors College Dean, Larry Berman. “It also reinforces what we know—when provided the opportunity and institutional support, our students will embrace a lifetime of achievement.”

If selected as a Marshall Scholar, Lohr plans to complete a Masters of Philosophy in Early Modern English History at Oxford University. Lohr will interview for the prestigious national scholarship Nov. 13 in Atlanta.

“One of the goals in Georgia State’s strategic plan is recognized student success,” said Risa Palm, senior vice president for academic affairs and provost. “Being named a Marshall Scholar finalist exemplifies not only Shelby’s continued dedication to excellence in academics but also the university’s continued upward trajectory in seeing students excel in the classroom and well beyond their time with us.”

“I am so honored to be selected for a Marshall Scholar finalist interview. I am truly indebted to the faculty and staff at Georgia State for the support, mentoring and guidance I have received along the way,” says Lohr.

Up to 40 new Marshall Scholarships are awarded each year (out of approximately 1,000 applicants). The awards finance young Americans of high ability to complete three years of graduate study at any university in the United Kingdom. The award is named in honor of US Secretary of State George C. Marshall, and is an expression of Britain’s gratitude for economic assistance received through the Marshall Plan after World War II.

Dr. Jennifer Gerz-Escandon, national scholarships and fellowships coordinator for the Honors College assists Georgia State students competing for national fellowships and scholarships such as the Marshall. For more information, visit the Honors College National Award Preparation website.

The University Marshall Scholarship Committee is chaired by Jennifer Gerz-Escandon (Honors College). Committee members include Bharath Parthasarathy (Legal Affairs), Marilynn Richtarik (English), Ryan Rowberry (College of Law) and Elizabeth Sheehan (Psychology).