Ronald Shanderson, 2015 Goldwater Scholar

Georgia State Award Recipients


Past Recipients

Boren Scholars

2013   Adama Tarawally
2012   Hainer Sibrian
2007   Stacie Taylor*

Gilman Scholars

2015 Ethenla Macauley
2015 Kalif Robinson
2014 Lucy Felker
2014 Johnathan Malmin
2014 Brandon Makrides
2014 Chelsea Ward
2014 Monique White
2014 Paola Marquez Hincapie*
2013   Jonathan Malmin
2012   Monae Freeman
2012   Nicole Griffin
2012   Linze Yarbrough
2011   Emily Chou
2011   Alexandre De Croy
2011   Oladunni Okunato

Fulbright Scholars

2015   Megan Moore
2013   Tyson Duffy
2011   Alice Barrett
2011   Nicholas Nunn
2004   Angie Zeidan

Goldwater Scholar

2016 R. Andrew Servinsky
2016 Noa Erlitzski (Honorable Mention)
2015 Ronald Shanderson
1995 & 1996   Michelle Shearer

Critical Language Scholarship

2016   Andy Alcala

ThinkSwiss Scholarship

2014   Ekaterina Stroeva

Kernan Social Justice Fellowship

2014   Ashton Brasher

Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) Scholars

2013   Johnny Truong

*Denotes alternate

Georgia State Award-Winning Faculty

We are so proud of our award-winning faculty at Georgia State. Georgia State Honors College students have the opportunity to interact with Rhodes, Truman and Fulbright Scholars on a daily basis through classroom instruction, mentorship and educational programming.

Rhodes Scholars

  • Marilynn Richtarik, D.Phil., Associate Professor of English, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Ryan Rowberry, J.D., Assistant Professor and Associate Director for the Center for the Comparative Study of Metropolitan Growth, College of Law

Truman Scholars

  • Charlotte Alexander, J.D., Assistant Professor of Legal Studies, Department of Risk Management and Insurance, J. Mack Robinson College of Business, secondary appointment, College of Law


Fulbright Scholars

  • Elizabeth Beck, Ph.D., Associate Professor, School of Social Work, Andrew Young School of Policy Studies
  • Joseph Feinberg, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Social Studies Education in the Department of Middle-Secondary Education and Instructional Technology
  • Paul J. Ferraro, Ph.D., Professor, Economics, Andrew Young School of Policy Studies
  • Peggy A. Gallagher, Ph.D., Professor, Early Childhood Special Education and Director, Project SCEIS, College of Education
  • Mark Geil, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health, College of Education
  • Janelle A. Kerlin, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Public Management and Policy
  • Gayle Nelson, Ph.D., Professor, Applied Linguistics and Director of International Programs
  • Lisa Muftic, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice and Criminology, Andrew Young School of Policy Studies
  • Matthew C. Roudane, Ph.D., Regents’ Professor of English in the College of Arts and Science
  • Christine Stauber, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Institute of Public Health
  • Dennis R. Young, Ph.D., Ramsey Professor of Private Enterprise and Director of the Nonprofit Studies Program in the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies